Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park

Forget about the troubles back home. Head over to the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Located just a 10- to 20-minute speedboat ride away from Sabah's capital, Kota Kinabalu, the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park consists of a cluster of five idyllic islands spread over 4,929 hectares.

The islands - Pulau Manukan, Pulau Mamutik, Pulau Sulug, Pulau Gaya and Pulau Sapi have soft white beaches that are teeming with fish and coral; perfect for beginner divers as well as snorkellers and picnickers.

For those who love adventures on land, Pulau Gaya and Pulau Sapi also have hiking trails through their pristine jungles. Pulau Gaya is the biggest island in the park and has been gazetted a forest reserve since 1923. Pulau Manukan is the second largest island in this park and is the most developed island with 20 units of chalets, clubhouse, restaurants and a diving centre. The island is recommended for  snorkeling, diving and swimming.

Pulau Mamutik is the smallest island in the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. It is also the most convenient one to visit, as it is located nearest from Kota Kinabalu. Pulau Sapi which means "Cow Island", one can walk literally over from Pulau Gaya to Pulau Sapi via the connecting sandbar during low tide.

Pulau Sulug is the most remote of the five islands in the park. It is a small rocky island with a long sand-spit facing east.

Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park is also home to a variety of exotic flora and fauna. One is likely to catch a glimpse of rare species such as the intriguing Megapode or Burung Tambun, a bird with large feet that makes a meowing sound like a cat.